How do you use Textise?

Please let me knVoting imageow what your main use of Textise is by completing the poll below. No prizes, I’m afraid, just the satisfaction of helping me understand how best to take Textise forward. If your main use isn’t listed, or you’d like to expand on it, feel free to add a comment to this post. Thanks!

7 responses to “How do you use Textise?

  1. charles weisinger

    Hello, thank you so much for your site. My day job is working for the government , sequently everything is blocked, I just want to read articles. I love your site. Just text, brilliant, io9.com , gawker.com , usatoday.com , bloomberg.com , mmqb.si.com , all are very heavy pages, that load alot of bs. Your site is amazing. At home, I “only” have a 4 gig laptop. So everything loads slow. (Please remember I am 45 years old, so I think a 40 mb hard drive was pricey in 1988). So I think its silly web page developers put so much crap, that 4gigs is too slow.

    Like

  2. hi
    very nice service. But is it possible to have the number of search results (say 10,50,100 or 200 ) in the option-page?. This way I don’t have to use the “next” button to browse through the results.

    Like

  3. Hi Ian, your converter looks like *almost* what I’m looking for. Similar “web to txt” converters that I’ve found appear to simply be forwarding output from lynx on the output page.

    My linux server runs a nightly script to scrape several social network web pages to gather membership counts from them. The actual number is embedded as a string in the page source, so wget works fine. I need to do this automatically, so I don’t forget, and so that the count is taken consistently at midnight. My programming skills are just half a notch above issuing bash commands, so I’ve been using grep, cut and printf to create my nightly reports.

    However, one of these social sites has just gone further to obfuscate the string, and I’m at a loss to find where it comes from. It seems to be a global java-script variable now, generated in an external file. The membership count appears in the browser just as before, but only the variable name shows up in page source. I can’t find the same variable in any of the requisite files found in the browser cache. Lynx and web proxies (scripts on) only get me a generic page without the membership count. It’s not a matter of being logged in, or cookie support, it seems to be a matter of processing the internal code faithfully to see the geo-located version of this page.

    https://nextdoor.com/invite/vfpcykfyjmmbjyhnhtba/

    I’d rather not go back to cutting and pasting the info daily! I can easily still grep the string I need out of an html, txt, or mht file, if I can automate fetching it and dropping it in /tmp. The format of the request, which your converter uses, makes it ideal for scripting. A simple static URL gets the textised version in reply, and works with wget.

    I did find that saving the browser’s page as MHT or using *some* online web-snapshot sites does bring the string into view within the saved output file. These services are obviously processing the URL just as a modern browser would, and not just reformatting the raw html file. But, these toolbar/web form interfaces aren’t something I can automate.

    Are you game to try an advanced version that has improved script support so that the text output is more faithful to dynamic pages? Thanks in advance!

    Like

    • Hi Tim,

      Thanks for getting in touch.

      After a cursory look at the page, I can confirm that I understand your problem – although it’s not immediately apparent to me what the solution might be!

      I’ll have a think and get back to you.

      Like

  4. Now I have no chance to use textise! 😦 I used textise mainly because my old browser is unable to show today web pages, for instance wikipedia. And of course my browser is unable to work with the captcha. So now the textise page has lost any sense for me. What to do? Old computer able tu run only old OS able to run only old browser… 😦

    Like

    • Hi Olda,
      Sorry to hear you’re having problems with Textise. Unfortunately, I was forced to introduce some filtering due to the number of threats and abuse the site was receiving – this was negatively impacting performance for genuine users.
      Could you let me know which browser and OS you’re using? I should be able to make an exception for you.
      Ian

      Like

Leave a Reply

